Link verschicken   Druckansicht öffnen
 

Miranda L.

miranda

by Enrico F.

 

Name: Miranda L.

Gender: female

Place of birth: Carbonia

Year of birth: 1950

Nationality: Italian

 

 

 

Describe briefly the living conditions in your childhood (socio-economic status of the family, did you grow up in a nuclear family (how many children) or in an extended family (did you live with paternal or maternal grandparents, uncles and their families, did you go to school?).

My childhood years were sad for me. I lived in a joyful and united, but poor family that lived on very little. A family of 8 children, we did not have the opportunity to meet and hang out with our grandparents because they were missing during the "Spanish" epidemic.

 

Describe briefly the circumstances of your life from adolescence to retirement (higher education, falling in love, marriage, career, children, holidays and travel, visions of society, environment, role of mobility) Was everything satisfactory, difficult, eventful?

I only attended elementary school and at the age of 13/14 I began working for a family known to my parents until the age of 17. I got married at the age of 20 and had two children, but right away we had great economic difficulties that forced us to give up many things.The years of adolescence despite the poverty I live in a serene family and surrounded by many friends in the neighbourhood with whom we had excellent relationships almost family. On the other hand, married life passed with periods of great sacrifice due to lack of work.

 

What was the position of older people when you were young (how were the most important decisions such as choices for education, profession, retirement planning. Please share a story that illustrates the intergenerational relationships in the society in which you grew up.

I didn't know the elders in my family or even my husband's, but I did see the elders in the neighbourhood who always lived surrounded by the effect of their children and grandchildren. When these were missing because they worked far away, it was the neighbourhood that took care of them. At that time I remember that they were very strict and authoritarian. They decided all the choices concerningtheir children on
2education and work. In fact, I didn't study much because my parents wanted me to and I always worked because of their decision.

 

Describe the intergenerational relationships in your family (Did your parents or your spouse/partner's parents take care of their parents and help you with your children and run the house? Did you live with your parents or spouse/partner? Did you take care of them when they were very old?)

My grandparents were never around and neither were my husband's. ButI knew from my mother's voice that they were not there. But I knew through my mother's voice that my grandmother was cared for at home by an aunt who was my mother's sister. In the same way I could see the grandparents who lived in my neighbourhood who were always surrounded by the affection of their family members and also helped them with the housework and garden chores....

 

Describe briefly the living conditions in your current life (living alone or with your spouse/partner or children or in the retirement home, your pension is sufficient for a dignified life, for health, for communication with children and friends in the country or abroad).

When I was a child, I didn't worry about old age even though I lived in economic difficulty. Today, living as a pensioner with my husband, I believe that life has improved from an economic point of view but has worsened in personal relationships.The pension after so many years of sacrifice is modest, but we manage to satisfy our basic needs sufficiently.

 

Please describe your daily habits in the present (taking care of grandchildren, socializing with friends, neighbours, extended family members, health care) Activities such as art, playing music, going to concerts, cinema, theatres, gardening, hobbies, being active in tenants' advice, volunteering in community centers, environmental organizations, pets and other animal organizations, etc. should be suggested only if the person interviewed does not mention any of them when describing his/her daily habits!)

The children fortunately work but still live in the same city.

I take care of them on a daily basis. I socialize with neighbours but we don't have many friends. I used to love making handicrafts and ceramic objects, but an illness in recent years prevents mefrom some movements. I spend a lot of time in my garden and enjoy the company of a cat.

 

What media do you use in your everyday life (TV, radio, newspapers); what new technologies do you use (Internet, computers, smartphones) and have you noticed that yourgeneration uses them and how?

I read newspapers every day but I mostly watch TV. I use Internet with my pc.

 

The roles of pensioners / In your opinion, what are the main roles of pensioners?

I think that passing on the traditions and values of life will help today's grandchildren and young people to live better and strengthen their character.

 

Having in mind the representations of the elderly in the media, what would be your message for the younger generations?

The message I would like to leave them is above all not to leave their elders alone.